Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Monique

983773_273536906186762_1636423343099421109_n.jpg

Introduce Yourself 

Hi Queens, I am your 20 year old blogger, Monique from Jamaica. I am a nursing student. I love to sing, dance, watch YouTube videos and encourage others.

Why did you go natural?

I went natural because my dad was not digging the permed hair on me. He thought my thick head of hair had gotten too thin and too short. He suggested I return to my natural state. I am happy he told me to do so.

Did you go big chop or transition?

I transitioned into my natural hair journey. I was very much afraid of a big chop and reluctant to cutting my shoulder length hair. Every two weeks I would treat my hair to strengthen my transitioning hair and keep my hair in protective styles inclusive of twists. It didn’t take long for me to transition, I was surprised at how fast I had returned to my natural hair.

How long have you been natural?

I have been natural for almost five and a half years. I didn’t begin to take complete care of my hair until about 3 years ago and this is when I began to see growth in my hair.

How would you describe your hair texture?

I am not sure on how to describe my texture because I tend to get confused about this hair typing thing. Nevertheless, the curls at the top of my head are very loose while the curls at the temple and nape are very coily. At the crown of my head, the curls are less coilier than at the nape and temple but not as loose of a curl as the top of my head. I have really thick hair though, that gets frizzy.

What is your styling regimen?

After a wash-day routine I usually have my hair in 12 twists which sometimes turns into twist-out for or high-puff for church. Before twisting my hair, I mist with water apply Blue Magic’s Organic Indian Hemp or Coconut Oil then Creme of Nature Lemongrass and Rosemary Leave-In, sometimes. In the night I will, I will braid my hair to stretch it so I can do mini twists (rope twists) on my hair for school.

Other wash days when I am not in the mood to sit 6 hours and do mini twists I will put my hair into bigger twists that I wear to school for a week in styles such as roll and tuck and then it becomes a twist out for the next week or so.

 What is your wash-day regimen like?

Well, I have just switched to the Curly Girl method. I hope this method works for me because I am so tempted to use my sulfate shampoos. Before this I co-washed my hair every 2 weeks with a V05 conditioner or Tresemme conditioner. Every month I would use a shampoo or ACV rinse to rid my hair of any product build-up. I would also deep condition my hair every 2-4 weeks depending on the style I had my hair in.


What is your favorite go-to hairstyle for days when you don’t have a lot of time to sty
le?

My favorite go-to hairstyle is a messy high-puff because it is a default hairstyle or turn that puff into a bun. I sleep with my hair in a pineapple most times. I just mist my hair with water and put on a little gel and place all that hair up there or slap on a bun. Walaaaaa! I am ready to go.

What are some of your problem areas (if any) that require extra TLC?

My ends and the middle of my hair are problematic areas. I try to dust my ends every 6 months, as well as, pay keen attention to them when moisturizing. The middle of my hair is prone to breakage so I have to keep that area moisturize and try to avoid applying pressure to that area.

What are your favorite products to use on your hair?

Eco Styler Gel

Alberto Vo5 Moisture Milk Conditioner, Strawberries and Cream

TRESemme Naturals Nourishing Moisture Conditioner

Lottabody Coconut & Shea Oils Moisturize Me Curl & Style Milk

Africa’s Best Organics Hair Mayonnaise

What problems have you encountered on your natural hair journey?

The main problems I face are my parents telling me that they don’t like my hair because a curl wasn’t perfectly defined or persons asking me if it’s my real hair or if i’m wear crotchet braid. In addition to that, my friends getting annoyed when I get excited about seeing another natural hair girl at school.

What does being natural means to you?

Being natural means embracing the hair that was given to me by God despite what others say. It also means being an example to our young girls and showing them that they are Queens.

           Texture Shot.jpg                    IMG_20150226_091112.jpg

SAM_7876.jpg                  InstaShot_20150322_204348.jpg

InstaShot_20150403_201205.jpg               InstaShot_20150316_205604.jpg

Instasize_0914201210.jpg             SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

 

 

InstaShot_20150404_193324

Until next time,

Peace & Love.

Signature

2 thoughts on “Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Monique

Leave a Reply

