Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Reneisha

I introduce to you our January Queen for 2016, Reneisha. She’s the young aspiring nurse, God-fearing and beautiful. She has been natural all her life.

IMG-20160118-WA0006

Introduce yourself

Hi everyone! I’m Reneisha Stephenson: a Jesus lover, Jamaican, natural hair enthusiast, nursing student and nature lover.  I also love to dance, skate and read books.

Have you ever thought of perming your hair?

I have been natural since birth; my hair has never been permed or even flat ironed. Growing up I had a negative perception of my hair, I didn’t see it as pretty. In Jamaica, persons with curly or ‘mixed’ hair were the only ones  deemed as having ‘good’ or ‘pretty’ hair. So, since I am not mixed I didn’t see my hair that way. At one point I wanted my hair permed but I didn’t ask my mother about it because I knew I wouldn’t have been allowed to. Now, I’m so glad I didn’t get my hair permed! I have really grown to love my natural hair.

How would you describe your hair texture?

My hair texture is a mix between 4B/C. It’s soft, thick and the curl pattern is not as tight as 4C and not exactly 4B so it’s somewhere in the middle.

IMG-20160118-WA0011.jpg

What is your styling regimen?

I do a lot of protective styling for my hair. I do mostly braids, cornrows and micro-twists. Usually after I get my hair washed and dried, I will do medium twists and put them in bantu knots then unravel and untwist them the next day to wear on my way to the hairdresser. Or I would do puffs or buns- these are simpler and less time consuming.

IMG-20160118-WA0007

What is your wash-day regimen like?

Usually this takes maybe a whole day because I’m doing things in between hair care. After taking down my protective style (which I may keep for up to four weeks) I would do a homemade treatment for my hair. My favorites are:

Avocado, olive oil and/or egg

Castor oil

Aloe Vera and egg

I would section my hair into four parts and rub equal amounts of whichever treatment in my hair. I place my cholesterol heating cap over my hair and then do some chores while it steams. My wash-day is usually on a weekend since it’s so time-consuming. After keeping the treatment in my hair for about 2 hours, I wash it out and proceed with shampooing and conditioning my hair. After doing so, I section my hair into four parts, add my moisturizer, detangle and twist. This is done for all four sections. I allow the moisturizer to dissolve before I proceed to oil my scalp with olive oil. Then my hair is either blow dried (once a month) or Bantu knotted so it is stretched for styling.

I also do co-washing if there is too much product build-up in my hair before take down.

IMG-20160118-WA0008.jpg

What is your favorite go-to hairstyle for busy days?

My favorite go-to hairstyle is a puff. Its easy breezy but still looks great once the hair is moisturized and shows off our curls. If I’m running late and my hair is a mess, I just pull it together in a puff- I call it puff and go lol.

IMG-20160118-WA0004

What are some of your problem areas (if any) that require TLC?

I have tackled some of the problem areas with my hair; some of which were dryness and thin strands. I started doing the LOC (liquid, oil, cream) method on my hair every day or every other day based on how my hair felt/looked so my hair has less of a moisture problem. My hair was relatively thick if compared to other persons with thin hair but I wanted it thicker so I started steaming my hair weekly with castor oil as well as mixing it with my hair oil/moisturizer and thus far I’ve seen improvement in the thickness of my hair. Also, I realized that the dryness of my hair ends was affecting my length retention so I started playing keen attention to them and ensured that they are well moisturized and handled with care. I started loving my hair and it loved me right back- we are going strong lol.

IMG-20160118-WA0003

What are your favorite products to use in your hair?

The products I love to use in my hair are:

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Castor Oil

Optimum Oil Therapy 3-in-1 Creme Oil Moisturizer

Cantu Shea Butter Daily Oil Moisturizer

TRESemme Conditioner, Flawless Curls

Now Foods Organic Argan Oil

ECOCO Eco Style Gel, Olive

What problems have you encountered on your natural hair journey?

Since I’ve been a natural my whole life, I should be used to how much time it takes to unravel protective styles then wash and restyle my hair- but I’m not. Natural hair is time-consuming and requires a lot of patience so that our hair won’t get damaged by hasty and rough handling. Because of the fact that I’m way too busy to comb my hair every day, I have to sit for about 4 hours at the end of each month to style my hair. That in itself is a pain but I’ve accepted it because no matter what natural hair is worth it. As the old Jamaican saying says “If yuh want good yuh nose haffi run”! (Translation: If you want something good you have to endure the pain or whatever it costs you.) 

IMG-20160118-WA0009.jpg

Where can you be found?

My Instagram: @renerific

My upcoming blog: renerifically.weebly.com

 

Leave a Reply

