Product Review | Organics by Africa’s Best Hair Mayonnaise

Many of us are probably used to this product, Africa’s Best Organics Hair Mayonnaise being used as a protein treatment. I’m sure once we hear mayonnaise we start to think protein treatment or food … lol.

SAM_7626.jpg

This hair mayonnaise promises to condition, moisturize and strengthen damaged or over-processed hair.

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Glycerin, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Dicetyldimonium Chloride, Polyquaternium-32, Lanolin Oil, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Olea Europeaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Cetyl Alcohol, DMDM Hydantoin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Parfum (Fragrance), Dimethicone PEG-8 Laureate, Origanum Vulgare (Oregano) Leaf, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot)Seed Oil, Cholesterol, Soluble Collagen, Tocopherol, Ovum (Egg Powder), Panthenol, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, CI 19140 (Yellow 5), CI 42090 (Blue 1), CI 16035 (Red 40), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Equisetum Hiemale (Horsetail) Extract, Urtica Dioica (Nettle) Extract.

Yes, it does contain Mineral Oil. The oil that most of us naturals avoid but it did justice to my hair regardless.

How I Used: I used this product as a deep conditioner, of course. I used it every month after I had taken down my mini twists or rope twists that I had in for a month. I usually apply it to dry hair just before washing my hair regardless of what the directions said about applying after shampooing and it worked just fine.

Thoughts: If you are looking for a mild protein treatment, this product here is a great one for such a treatment. It even defined my curls but after reading about how protein sensitive low porosity hair is (I have low porosity hair) I had to stop using this product. Well, not stop but rearrange how often I use this product in my hair regimen. LP hair being protein sensitive explained why after a few months of using this product my hair started to feel stiff and when I ran my hands through my hair I heard this squeaky-like sound (it made me cringed …. yikes). The first few times that I used it though, it made my hair completely soft and it was a great detangler.

Price: I paid $450 dollars for this in Jamaica at a local beauty supplies. This product goes for $5.99 US.

Is this product worth buying?: Yes, it works great as a protein treatment. This is the only product I use to do a protein treatment.

Used this product before? How did it work for your hair? Comment below.

Until next time,

Peace & Love.

Signature

Leave a Reply

