Braid & Curl

Hey Queens! I’m back with another style. This is my first time doing a braid and curl style on my hair because I’m just a twist-out and bantu-knot out gal – I’v perfected those two styles. There are many other styles I am yet to try and really would love to but as time goes by I will try and with each try I’ll share my experiences through words and pictures. I’d love my blog to be completely authentic as possible so my readers can see that it takes trial and error to perfect the art of the natural hair styles.

Braid & Curl Collage

I finished this style around 5:15 pm on Sunday and I had a class at 8:00 am Monday. I was anxious about how this would turn out because these styles usually take a longer time to dry. I tried to use less gel on this style to avoid an extensive drying time. This was done on dry hair.

STEP 1: Moisturize hair then apply Ecostyler Gel.

STEP 2: Braid hair until you have about a 1” or 1½” left at the ends of your hair.

STEP 3: Apply more gel to the ends of your hair then roll hair around flexirod.

SAM_8384

STEP 4: Wrap that baby up with your silk scarf. A silk scarf may not be enough to cover all the hair, therefore, cover with your bonnet as well.

SAM_8387

THE FOLLOWING DAY

STEP 5: Check if your hair is dry. If it’s not, sit under your hooded dryer for a few minutes or use your blow dryer (that’s what I do).

STEP 6: Remove all the flexirods.

SAM_8390

STEP 7: Coat the palm of your hands with an oil of your choice then apply this to your hair  for a nice sheen after take down.

STEP 8: Begin to take down these braids gently, very gently because a braid out tends to give more frizz than a twist when taking down.

SAM_8397

STEP 9: Fluff with your pick for a desired look or style to your desire.

SAM_8408

As you can see my curls were there but after a few minutes they started to drop. I would rock this style regardless of the undefined look I got but to school, nah! Especially since today was a rainy day and you know what happens when your natural hair gets wet. Therefore, I opt for a puff.

I think I didn’t get the desired definition I wanted because I used less gel than I usually do, the size of my braids, as well as, I think the use of this size flexi-rods at the ends contributed. Look out for my updated braid & curl style.

Have you ever done this style on your hair? Share some tips as to how you perfected this style.

Until next time,

Peace & Love.

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

