DIY ⇒ Shampoo

Hey Queens! I introduce to you this DIY that has worked tremendously for my hair where moisture retention is concerned. Hope you love it and give it a try.

SAM_8364

I discovered this DIY shampoo while researching about low porosity hair. Many LPH girls I watch on YouTube have used this DIY shampoo and have had great reviews. This shampoo is greatly used by LPH girls because it contains baking soda.  Baking soda has so many unique properties, it can also be used occasionally to “clarify” hair and eliminate buildup from commercial shampoos and conditioners. A little experimentation will show whether baking soda works for you as a regular method of hair care or as an occasional treatment.

How to Use:

Step 1: Add 6-7 pumps of your favourite conditioner (I use VO5 Moisture Milks Moisturizing Conditioner) into a container/spray bottle (I use a empty VO5 bottle).

Step 2: Add 3-4 tablespoons of baking soda to your conditioner.

Step 3: Add warm water to this mixture.

Step 4: Shake or mix then apply to your hair.

Step 5: Cover with steam cap (optional) or let it sit for 5 minutes.

Step 6: Rinse with warm water.

DIY Baking Soda Shampoo.jpg

The more conditioner you add, the thicker this mixture will be and vice versa. Shake well before applying to hair.

Benefits:

  1. A baking soda hair wash cleans out excess product, removes impurities and cleans your hair.
  2. Baking soda is used for absorbing oils and is therefore ideal when used as a dry shampoo to remove sebum, the oily substance the skin secretes to keep skin and hair moisturized.
  3. Baking soda has a pH of 9.0 (strong alkali). Alkaline products help to open the cuticles of our hair to allow moisture in (this a benefit for girls with LPH due to closed cuticles while this may be a down fall for HPH girls).

Recommendation:

If you have high porosity hair and plan to use this shampoo I would advise that you finish off with an AVC rinse that has an acidic pH and this will close the cuticles of your hair or rinse with cold water.

Experience:

Baking Soda in Hair.jpg

Baking soda applied to hair

This product left my hair feeling soft. It’s a great detangler and defined my curls. In addition to that, the shedding I would experience on wash day was less than it usually is.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The minimal shedding I get. I wish I had pictures of my previous wash days with this DIY shampoo. This is not even half of what I shed during those wash days.

How can I not recommend this DIY to my queens? Have you used this treatment? How did it work for you? Comment below, as well as, your method.

If you want to check out the originality of this treatment, known as the Cherry Lola Treatment created by a blogger with the same name, click here. This was just my modified version of the Cherry Lola Treatment and it works just as well as the original method. Baking Soda is the main ingredient of this treatment.

Until next time,

Peace and Love.

Signature

 

 

4 thoughts on “DIY ⇒ Shampoo

  1. Pingback: My Natural Hair Regimen for 2016 | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  2. Pingback: Factual or Mythical Series: Water and Washing of Hair regularly dries out the Hair | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  3. Pingback: My Wash Day Regimen | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  4. Pingback: Product Review | ORS™ Shealicious™ Moisture Lock | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

Leave a Reply

