Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Sunnette

Hey Queens. I introduce to you another Queen for the month of February. Welcome little Sunny. I’ve known her from high school. She was in a higher grade than I am but now we attend the same University doing the same course – what were the odds? Nevertheless, I love her hair and thought it would be great to feature her on my blog.

sunny

Introduce yourself

Hi, I’m Sunnette Stevens. I am currently a nursing student of The University of Technology, Jamaica.  In the future I would like to become a Paediatric Nurse. I have been natural for all my 22 years soon to be 23 years.  I am a humble individual. I am all about family.  I enjoy reading, listening to music, dancing and chilling with friends. I love the Lord and I try my best to follow his words.

Have you ever thought of perming your hair?

I have thought about perming my hair before. That was back in my teens though as I found it really difficult to manage my hair on my own (sometimes even now) when I was attending high school and also because I was like the only one with natural hair among my friends and even my immediate family. However, I was always afraid of the damage that would be done to it as my hair is thin and a bit lighter than the normal head of hair, also because I have a bit of my grandparents Syrian hair – it’s not a lot but the mixture is there.  I won’t deny trying to straighten my hair. I have tried the flat iron using the pressing comb. The issue with those though is that by the time my hair has been straightened its back to its original state. It doesn’t stay straight. It starts to curl again.

How would you describe your hair texture?

My hair texture is 3C. It is naturally soft and light but has the tendency to get a bit coarse. My curls are finer in texture.

natural-hair, curly-hair, feature, mixed-chick                       natural-hair, mixed-hair, curly-hair, feature

What is your styling regimen?

I do a lot of protective styles in my hair. Mostly braids though. I find that braids grow my hair and increase the volume as well, as my hair is naturally thin.  I also do cornrows but I am not a big fan of it, as well as, twists.

protective-styles, braids, mixed-chicks, natural-hair natural-hair, mixed-chicks, protective-styles, braids natural-hair, mixed-chick, feature, protective-styles, braids

What is your wash-day regimen like?

Wash day takes a lot of time depending on what I am doing to my hair on the particular day, as well as the amount of products I will be using. On a day where I am doing wash and treatment the products may vary. This largely depends on what was in my hair before wash day.  On days after taking out my protective styles (normally 4-6 weeks) it is normal shampooing, conditioning, steaming and treating.

The shampoo I use is Revlon ZP11 normal hair anti-dandruff shampoo this is because I have really itchy scalp. This really helps with my itching. It also gives my hair a light feeling.  I do at least 3 shampoos to get rid of all the build up from the weeks before. I deep condition with Suave Naturals Soothing Lavender Lilac conditioner. This gives my hair a silky texture and makes it easier to comb through any kinks that might be left behind.  For steaming my go to would be aloe vera and egg white combined with Jamaican mango and lime black castor oil. This really helps to build and repair my hair. I section my hair into four parts and apply the mixture then twist.  If I am not using that mixture I normally use Organics Hair Mayonnaise.  I then place my hair under the steaming cap for 1-2 hours while finishing my chores; sometimes I apply heat by placing a warm towel around the cap.  I then rinse and do my final washing using Garnier Fructis with Organ Oil Fortifying Shampoo. This shampoo helps with frizzing and reduces dryness.

After all that is done I section my hair again into four and add my hair food oil and IC Olive leave in treatment. I then proceed to blow dry each section. I am not a fan of air drying as it makes it harder for me to manage my hair. After blow drying I focus on my scalp. I apply my Revlon ZP-11 anti danfruff hair dressing cream. The shampoo and cream works perfectly together. And then I proceed to oil the rest of my hair with my hair food hair oil. And then I style as I desire.

natural-hair, mixed-chick, feature, curly-hair                                  blow-out, natural-hair, mixed-chick, feature

What is your favorite go-to hairstyle for days when you don’t have a lot of time to style?

My favorite go to hairstyle is a high bun or just a simple up-do hairstyle with my ends either twisted or tucked under.

   natural-hair, feature, mixed-chick, protective-style, high-bun      high-bun, natural-hair, mixed-chick, feature

What are some of your problem areas (if any) that require TLC?

My problem areas include my ends, edges mostly to the side, dryness and sometimes the back section of my hair. I am tackling those areas though and paying more attention to them. For example, I am now ensuring that the back section of my hair is fully moisturized as the front as I normally only cared about the front part of my hair. I am also ensuring that my ends are kept moisturized as well. I don’t really have much hair at the sides of my head which this is the way it has been ever since I know myself. But I am trying something new so if it works I will let you know.

What are your favorite products to use in your hair?

ECOCO Eco Style Gel, Olive

African Pride Olive Miracle  Moisturizing Lotion

Africa’s Best Organics Texture My Way Curl Keeper Lotion

Blue Magic Hair Food Oil

Jamaican Mango and Lime Black Castor Oil

natural-hair, mixed-chick, curly-hair, updo, feature            shoot

What problems have you encountered on your natural hair journey?

Problems that I have encountered would be issues with styling my hair. Some styles don’t come out as I want them but I do know how to make them work for me.  It takes a lot of time to care for my natural hair, so patience is needed and sometimes it is difficult to lose through twists and other styles as my hair is easily tangled.

updo, natural-hair, mixed-chick, feature, protective-style      updo, natural-hair, mixed-chick, protective-style, feature

What does being natural means to you?

Being natural means being myself and loving and embracing who I am- no additions or take offs.

curly-hair, natural-hair, feature, mixed-chick

Where can you be found?

Facebook – Sunnette Stevens

Instagram-  lilmisssunshine04

4 thoughts on “Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Sunnette

Leave a Reply

