Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Samantha

Hey Queens! 👋

Here’s another Kinky Curly Coily Queen for the month of March. I’ve admired her hair over the course of the years I’ve met her on facebook, as well as the few times I’ve seen her while I’m out. I wish I had the courage she had to just chop my hair off but I don’t. I admire her spirit –  people might think it’s weird, some might appreciate it or not but I am one who does appreciate it.

DSC00450

 Introduce yourself.

Samantha. I’m 21 yr old naturalista. You could say I’m an artistic woman. Currently I am not enrolled at any colleges or UNI because I’m still discovering myself and finding what I’m passionate about. Always learning something new, like painting and doing make-up. I love coloring outside of the lines. LOL

Did you big chop or transitioned?

Big chop around 3 times.
How long have you been natural?
Always I’d say. Processed my hair for 9 months. Worst decision.
How would you describe your hair texture?
Kinky curly. Not sure. The front and sides are a bit wavy to straight, whilst the rest is curly.
IMG_20141220_191240
What is your styling regimen like?
I do a lot of braids, cornrows and i wear scarfs. Since my hair cut is like an above the shoulder bob I try to do twist outs, fro-awks.
What is your wash-day regimen like?
It’s more like 2 days. 1.I normally wash my hair with any shampoo because my hair does not get that dry. 2 I might do a henna over-night treatment or mayonnaise or oil treatments. 3. Deep condition!!! I use any Tresemme conditioner. 4. Sometimes I will apply my leave-in conditioner in the shower and let most of the water dry on it’s own. 5. Sometimes I leave my hair as is and seal it. 6. Do flat twist or 2 strand twist for the next day.
What is your favorite go-to hairstyle for days when you don’t have a lot of time to style?
Throw on a bandana and sleek my hair back and a high puff.
IMG_20160117_002221
What are some of your problem areas (if any) that require TLC?
Ends. Like no matter how much I trim, my ends are always dry.
IMG_20160203_145157
What are your favorite products to use on your hair?
Cantu Leave-In condition, olive oil, henna and WATER! I really do not have any faves because one moment my hair is loving it and then it hates it.
What problems have you encountered on your natural hair journey?
Natural hair takes tooooo much time to manage! Especially since my hair grows fast, hence I’m constantly cutting my hair.
What does being natural means to you?
Being happy with who I am inside and out. Because growing up all I wanted was to have curly hair but it was constantly being blown out or stretched. So since I’m older and can do what I want, curly hair everyday!
Where can you be found? 
sammiireid on IG, twitter and tumblr

IMG_20160219_180403_1

Leave a Reply

