Product Review | Cantu® Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream

Hey Queens! 👋

Back with another product review. This a long over due review. I’ve had this product for so long before I could make a decent review.

Mhmmm. What do I say about this product? I am on a hunt for a leave-in conditioner for my staples basket. I’ve heard a lot about Cantu® not only from reading reviews but I’ve had suggestions from other naturalistas in my class. Therefore, I got me this one right here  .

cantu-shea-butter, product-review, cantu-shea-butter-leave-in-conditioning-repair-cream, cantu-beauty, products

The Cantu® Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream promises to provide intense moisture to leave hair soft and manageable. It is formulated for damaged, dry or coarse hair.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua, Eau), Canola Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Chloride, Glycerin, Dicetlydimonium Chloride, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Extract, Actinidia Chinensis (Kiwi) Fruit Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Uritica Diocia (Nettle) Extract, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Leaf Extract, Achillea Millefolium (Yarrow) Extract, Fragrance (Parfum), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil, Hydrolized Collagen, Dimethicone PEG-8 Meadowfoamate, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Pentaerythrityl Tetracaprylate/Tetracaprate, Silk Amino Acids, Panthenol, DMDM Hydantoin, Polyquaternium-32, Mineral Oil, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Hydrolized Glycosaminoglycans, Sodium Hyaluronate, Propylene Glycol, Citric Acid, Sodium Chloride.

That’s alot, ain’t it? I got tired from typing all those words I couldn’t pronounce or spell. It took me so long to make a review about this product because I believe that I had to use this product multiple times before I could give my honest review on this product.

This product lists that it will mend hair breakage, repair split ends and reduce frizz, protect hair from heat damage, hydrate and moisturize with Shea Butter and natural oils.

Now let’s get into my review.

How I Used: My initial use was a disaster. I hated it on first use to the point where I was just going to give this product to my sister. I applied it to damp hair on the first use. I gave this product a try again but this time I applied it to soaking wet hair then twisted up my hair. After I came out of the shower then I applied my coconut oil. It was when I fell in love with this product. I also notice that applying it to wet hair in the shower helps to mask that strong scent I cannot contain.

Thoughts: This is a very thick product – it is so thick I could hold this jar upside down without the cover and it wouldn’t fall out. A little goes a long way. I really do not know how to describe the scent of this product but just know I hate it. The scent is so strong I could smell it up to a week after using it. When I used this product my wash day was a hurried one because it was done in the evening and I had a wedding the next day, therefore I had to blow dry my hair. I must say it does do what it listed – protects hair from heat damage. I for one am afraid of heat so I was happy this product was applied to my hair then. My blow dried hair felt moisturized when compared to other times I had blow dried it. I would say it does moisturizes hair and leaves hair soft and manageable.

One thing I have to mention though, ensure that the product is not too much when blowing drying or make sure your hair is at least 60% dry when blow drying because this heat could cause the product to thicken more and leave some residue in your hair.

Price: I paid $690 for this at a local beauty supplies in Montego Bay. It can be found on Amazon for $5.29, click here.

Is this product worth buying?: I think I got this at quite a reasonable price here in Jamaica because I see this product at other beauty supplies for like $800-$1000. If you can deal with a very lingering scent such as this then it’s for you. I don’t think I will purchase again especially because I think I won’t get it for that price again. I do still think this product is too heavy for my LPH. I am thinking of trying the Cantu Argan Oil Leave-In Conditioner to see how best it works with my hair since it has a light oil in comparison to the shea butter.

Have you ever used this product on your hair? How did you go about using it? Did you like it?

Disclaimer: This review is how it worked for my hair and what I thought of it. It may or may not work the same but if you do try this product do not give up. Try it in various ways to see how it best works for your hair.

Until next time,

Peace & Love. 💋

Signature

14 thoughts on “Product Review | Cantu® Shea Butter Leave-In Conditioning Repair Cream

  1. Pingback: Factual or Mythical Series: Split Ends Can Be Fixed With the Right Product | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  2. Pingback: I’ve Noticed Softer Hair | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  3. Pingback: Beautiful Disaster | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

  4. Pingback: My Wash Day Regimen | Kinky Curly Coily Queens

Leave a Reply

