Kinky Curly Coily Queen ⇔ Reneka

Hey Queens! 👋

I bring to you the Kinky Curly Coily Queen of April – meet Reneka. I’ve known her since high school. She’s a beautiful woman with an intellectual mind.

FB_IMG_1452517651024

 Introduce yourself.

Hi guys, My Name is Reneka Fowler, a 20 year old student doing a Bachelor’s Degree at the University of the West Indies.

Did you big chop or transitioned?

For my natural hair journey I had transitioned but it was made easier cause I had cut my cream hair low before I had considered the idea of going back natural so it was a bit easier.

How long have you been natural?

Almost 4 years

How would you describe your hair texture?

Well if we are going by the standard that the natural hair community sets then I would say I have a black 4c textured hair.

IMG_20150911_123209

What is your styling regimen like?

Due to the fact that my hair is hard to manipulate I oftentimes restore to doing twist out, my fav hairstyle even though its time consuming and requires patience.

What is your wash-day regimen like?

I try not to make my wash regimem as complicated as most person but I try to wash every two week with sulfate-free shampoo, if there are a lot of product build up. If not just co-wash. Also try to deep condition once a month with homemade stuff like aloe vera and honey and or coconut oil.

What is your favorite go-to hairstyle for days when you don’t have a lot of time to style?

My favorite go-to hairstyle is putting my hair halfway up and doing a twist bun, this basically involves me twisting my hair in around 8 sections and then tucking them making a bun.

IMG_20151110_123500

What are some of your problem areas (if any) that require TLC?

My hair loses curls or whatever manipulated styles very fast and as such  have to constantly be trying to manipulate it.

What are your favorite products to use on your hair?

Coconut oil and shea butter, those are my “based” Products. Cantu twist and loc gel is also amazing but leaves my hair with residue. I’ve tried a few products while on this journey. None of them with significant difference so I oftentimes try other stuff.  I’m currently using Lotta body coconut and shea butter moisturizer and nature virtue hair oil.

IMG_20151231_085952

What problems have you encountered on your natural hair journey?

Criticism for one, natural hair persons have gone a long way in embracing their hair as it is oftentimes consider unkempt and nappy so overcoming criticism was always a problem you encountered.  The silent unacceptance of certain textured hair, so of your hair is not of a natural texture and length  then there is not ready acceptance.  Also ,the overpopulation of products which oftentimes might prevent you from finding and buying the right product.

What does being natural means to you?

Mean embracing your natural state of whatever you have such as your hair, attitude and personality . Being in acceptance of you and being  proud.

Where can you be found? 

Facebook- Reneka Fowler and Instagram Ren_Renzy

IMG_20151113_205007

Leave a Reply

