Product Review | SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus

Hey Queens! đź‘‹

I’m back with another review. Now this is a brand that has been on my wish list ever since I discovered it. I was always drawn to the Coconut & Hibiscus line because I have extremely frizzy hair. I was so excited when I entered PassionMeThis SheaMoisture giveaway. Not to mention, I prayed to God that I won this giveaway and He came through just right. *Thank you God* 🙇🏽🙏🏽 So you know it’s your girl’s first time trying out these products and I was hella excited. I’m sorry, I just can’t contain my excitement.

SheaMoisture, SheaMoisture-Coconut-&-Hibiscus, Product-Review, Curl-Enhancing-Smoothie, Curl-&-Shine-Conditioner, Curl-&-Shine-Shampoo

These products are sulfate, paraben, phthalates, paraffin, propylene glycol, mineral oil, synthetic fragrance, synthetic color and DEA free, as well as, there was no animal testing. There are also inclusive of three main ingredients:

Coconut Oil – hydrates and protects hair while reducing breakage.

Silk Protein – smoothes hair for a soft, silky feel.

Neem Oil – controls frizz while adding brilliant shine.

I am in a Jamaican natural hair group and I posted these products to get a feedback about them and all I got was raving comments about these products. Making me more excited to use them.

shea-moisture, review, good-comments, shea-moisture-coconut-&-hibiscus, conditioner, shampoo, curl-enhancing-smoothie, product-review,

Some of the great comments.

Curl & Shine Shampoo

shea-moisture-curl-&-shine-shampoo, shea-moisture, review, product-review, coconut-&-hibiscus, shampoo

The curl & shine shampoo promises to gently cleanse, hydrate, and detangle hair for bouncy, healthy curls.

Ingredients: Deionized Water, Decyl Glucoside (Sugar Beets), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Vitamin E, Melia Azadirachta (NEEM) Seed Oil, Sodium Lauryol Lactylate (Coconut Oil), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Rosemary Extract, Silk Protein, Essential Oil Blend, Guar Gum, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Hibiscus Flower Extract *Certified Organic Ingredient

How I Used: I used this to shampoo my wet hair after doing an hot oil treatment.

Thoughts: I think this was a great bottle for the product – allowing me to squeeze the product out. The smell was bomb.com. I can’t exaggerate enough about the smell. It smelt so good I could eat it. *yummy* The product was very runny and thin. I must say though a little goes a long way. If you wash your hair in sections like I do then a lot of this product wasn’t needed for each section – just a dime size. You know how we natural-haired girls say a dime size but instead use a dollop or more. Not in this case my friends, a dime size is all you need for each section and it starts sudding immediately. As you can see from the picture above it looks frothy in the bottle. The downfall of this though was that it wasn’t gentle on my hair as promised. It has no slip therefore, I could not detangle. When I tried to detangle it felt as though I was ripping my hair out. It gave me that stripped feeling that every shampoo gives me. Not to be sad so quickly. When I eventually washed it out of my hair, it didn’t feel stripped but hydrated.

IMG_20160305_181757.jpg

Consistency of the Shampoo.

 Price: I won these products which means I didn’t pay for them. I won the travel size of this product which costs $3.99 on the SheaMoisture site. In Jamaica here, we’d probably get the full size product for $1500 or more depending on where it is bought.

Is this product worth buying?: I am not a shampoo kinda girl. I’ve rid shampoo from my regimen about a year ago because of the stripped feeling I get from them. I love products that allow ease of detangling and this didn’t allow for that. Therefore, I would not purchase this product. I’ll stick to my DIY shampoo that hydrates, detangles and gently cleanses my hair.

Curl & Shine Conditioner

review-product-review, curl-&-shine-conditioner, shea-moisture, shea-moisture-curl-&-shine-conditioner

The curl and shine conditioner is a lightweight daily conditioner that promises to restore moisture and smooth dry hair cuticles.

Ingredients: Deionized Water, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Sorbitol Esters, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Simmondsia Chinesis Seed (Jojoba) Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Olea Europaea (Olive) Oil*, Cetyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin-B5), Propietary Essential Oil Blend, Silk Protein, Aloe Barbadenis Leaf Extract, Hibiscus Sabdsriffa Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Rosemary Extract, Caprylyl Glycol *Certified Organic Ingredient

How I Used: I used it to condition my hair of course after shampooing with the above mentioned shampoo and deep conditioning with the One n’ Only Argan Oil Moisture Repair Conditioner.

Thoughts: As stated before the choice of bottle is great. The smell was great but wasn’t as great as the shampoo. This was more of a faint smell. I wash my hair in sections and to get each section coated well I had to squeeze twice to get enough, therefore I used twice as much as the shampoo. I was able to detangle my hair with this product *Thank you God*. It does what it promises to do restore moisture and smooth dry hair cuticles. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS PRODUCT. It makes my hair really soft. My hair loves this product.

IMG_20160305_181948

The consistency of the Conditioner.

Price: I won the travel size of this product that costs $3.99 on the SheaMoisture site. In Jamaica here, we’d probably get the full size product for $1500 or more depending on where it is bought.

Is this product worth buying?: Yes. This is worth all the penny you can find. Lol. 🙂 I’ll purchase in the future but it won’t be used or bought frequently because I know it’s high priced in comparison to my favorite conditioners.

Curl Enhancing Smoothie

shea-moisture-coconut-&-hibiscus-curl-enhancing-smoothie, shea-moisture, coconut-&-hibiscus, curl-enhancing-smoothie, silk-protein, neem-oil

The curl enhancing smoothie promises too define curls, reduce frizz and smooth hair for a soft, silky feel, restore moisture and create brilliant shine, as well as, to condition hair without weighing it down for bouncy, healthy curls.

Ingredients: Deionized water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadirachta (Neem) Seed Oil, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed Oil, Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium (Honeysuckle) Flower, Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hibiscus Flower Extract *Certified Organic Ingredient

How I Used: I used this product on freshly washed hair after applying my Lottabody Curl & Style milk as my leave-in conditioner.

Thoughts: The curl enhancing smoothie comes in a very convenient package. It smells really great and does what it promises to do – it defines my curls, reduce frizz, smooth my hair for a soft, silky feel, restores moisture to my hair and create brilliant shine.

Price: I won the full size product which costs $12.99 on the SheaMoisture site. In Jamaica here, we’d probably get the full size product for $2000 or less depending on where it is bought.

Is this product worth buying?: Yes, this product is worth buying.

Bonus

I planned on buying the full size curl gel soufflĂ© because I wanted to see how the curl enhancing smoothie and this product worked for a wash n’ go.

Curl Gel Soufflé

shea-moisture-coconut-&-hibiscus-curling-gel-souffle, shea-moisture-coconut-&-hibiscus, shea-moisture

Our all-natural Curling Gel Soufflè with Agave Nectar and Flax Seed Oil defines and promotes curl with a soft, smooth finish. Coconut and Flax Seed Oils nourish, hydrate and seal the hair shaft to protect against environmental stressors, and promote natural oil retention. Enriched with Shea Butter, or natural humectant complex moisturizes and conditions leaving hair with a frizz-free, lacquer-like shine. This product does not contain silicones, polymers or PVP which may cause buildup.

Ingredients: Aqueous Infusion of Agave Teqilana Leaf Extract and Sugar Cane Extract, Pectin, Vegetable Glycerin, Adansonia Digitata Pulp (Baobab) Extract, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract*, Tocopherol (Vitamin E-Vegetable Oil Source), Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed/Flax) Seed Extract, Hibiscus Sabdariffa Extract, Potassium Sorbate, Propietary Essential Oil Blend *Certified Organic Ingredient

How I Used:  I use this product as a styling product after applying my curl enhancing smoothie or after applying my coconut oil.

Thoughts: It comes in the same packaging as the curl enhancing smoothie. It’s a custard-like product. Does not feel like our typical gels. This product helps to define my curls that the curl enhancing smoothie already created.

shea-moisture-coconut-&-hibiscus-curling-gel-souffle, shea-moisture, product-reveiw, coconut-&-hibiscus, curling-gel-souffle

Price: I got this product here for my birthday. The cost is $2000 or less depending on were it is bought.

Is this product worth buying?: Yes, this product is worth buying for those thick frizzy haired natural hair girls.

General: I cannot brag how great these products work together. I highly recommend these products especially the conditioner, the curl enhancing smoothie and the curling gel soufflè. These products today leave my hair feeling soft and moisturized for weeks. The reason that will keep me buying these products despite the high price range here in Jamaica. Thank you again PassionMeThis for giving me the opportunity to try out these products.

Look out for a upcoming blog post depicting how I get defined curls using the Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie and Curling Gel Soufflè on stretched hair with another Twist n’ Curl method from what I’m used to doing. 

Until next time,

Peace & Love.

Signature

 

 

4 thoughts on “Product Review | SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus

  1. I just bought the curl enhancing smoothie and used it like twice. I used it once for my twist out and didn’t get any definition and I used it the first time for moisturizing and it did a good job but no curls and the moisture didn’t last long. Next time, I’ll try it after applying my Auntie Jackie’s leave in to soften my hair but the product does smell so good tho!

    Like

Leave a Reply

